Clerk Predicting Larger Turnout for Election: Says More Registered Voters Could Lead to 30-percent Turnout

Lynn City Clerk Mary Audley said this week that a “bump in the number of registered voters,” combined with some greater interest in the upcoming election should lead to a 30-percent voter turnout, easily surpassing the number of voters who turned out for the primary election in September and in the last Mayoral election.

“I think we’ll probably double the turnout from the last (preliminary) election,” said Audley. “We’ve had some requests for absentee ballots, so it’ll probably be around 30 percent or so.”

She also noted that there are many more registered voters in this election, than there were four years ago, but attributed that to the interest in last year’s presidential election.

The election will be held next Tuesday, November 5, 2013, with polls opening at 7 a.m. and closing at 8 p.m. around the city.

Voters who do not know where they are supposed to go to vote can visit either the Massachusetts Secretary of State’s website for polling locations or the city of Lynn’s election website. Voters can also call the City Clerk’s office at 781-586-6805 and a member of the staff will help you find your polling location.

In addition to the Mayor’s race, which features incumbent Judith Flanagan Kennedy against City Council President Timothy Phelan, this year’s election also features races in nearly every seat on the council and the school committee.

The only two seats that do not feature a race are the ward Council seats from Wards Six and Seven.

The candidates for all offices are listed below in the order of their primary finish in September.

Councilor At-Large

G. Buzzy Barton, Daniel Cahil, Hong L. Net, Crighton, Robert Clay Walsh, Paul T. Crowley, Miguel Funex, and Aikaterini .

Ward 1 Councilor

Wayne Lozzi and Debra A. Plunkett’s.

Ward 2 Councilor

William R. Trahant Jr. and Jesse C. Jaeger’s.

Ward 3 Councilor

Darren P. Cyr and M. Ronald Mendes.

Ward 4 Councilor

Richard C. Collucci and A. Murrell-Rosario.

Ward 6 Councilor

Peter L Capano.

Ward 7 Councilor

Richard J. Ford.

The top five candidates in the School Committee race will each be elected to the School Committee. The candidates Donna M. Coppola, John E. Ford Jr., Charlie Gallo, Patricia M. Capano, Richard B. Starbard, Maria O. Carrasco, Lorraine Gately, Melissa L. Romaniello and Stanley H. Wotring Jr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.