Flanagan, Phelan to Top City Election Ballot: Ward 5 Race Will Require a Primary on Sep. 17

City voters will have decisions to make in nearly every city elective office that will be up in November, except for Ward 6 and 7 Councilors, where Peter Capano of Ward 6 and Richard J. Ford of Ward 7 have the distinction of being the only two uncontested city officials seeking re-election.

Three candidates are running for the Ward 5 seat on the Lynn City Council with the hope of succeeding current councilor Brendan Crighton who is making a bid for one of four at-large council seats.

The three candidates in the Ward 5 race are Seth E. Albaum, a schoolteacher and editor of Lynn Happens.com, Diana Chakoutis, a manager at the Old Tyme Restaurant in Lynn, and Jake Keo, an assistant retail manager.

Below is a complete list of the candidates in the all other races.

Mayor Judith Flanagan Kennedy will face a challenge this fall from incumbent At-Large Councilor and President of the City Council, John Timothy Phelan, an attorney.

In the race for the four At-large Council seats will be incumbents Buzzy Barton, Daniel Cahill, Hong L. Net, current Ward 5 Councilor Brendan Crighton and challengers Paul T. Crowley, Miguel Funez, Robert Clay Walsh and Aikaterini Panagiotakis.

In Ward One incumbent Wayne Lozzi will face a challenge from Debra A. Plunkett.

Ward Two councilor William R. Trahant Jr. will face Jesse C. Jaeger. Ward Three Councilor Darren P. Cyr will face challenger Ronald M. Mendes.

In Ward Four incumbent Richard Collucci will face Ariana Murrell-Rosario.

There are nine candidates for the six seats on the School Committee, with the Mayor serving as Chair of the School Committee. The nine candidates include incumbents Patricia N. Capano, Maria O. Carrasco, Donna M. Coppola, John E. Ford, Charlie Gallo, and Richard B. Starbard, with Lorraine Gately, Melissa L. Romaniello and Stanley H. Wotring Jr. also challenging.

Next Thursday, August 1 at 5 p.m. is the last day and hour by which candidates can withdraw their names form the ballot.

Wednesday, August 28 at 8 p.m. is the last day and hour that residents can register to vote in the primary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.