Lynn Election Ballot Positions Are Drawn

By Joseph Domelowicz Jr.

The general election ballot for the November election in Lynn has been set, with a random drawing at the Lynn City Clerk’s office last Thursday determining the ballot position of all candidates in contested races.

Due to the vagaries of the random drawing the longest tenured local elected official on the City Council side and a political newcomer on the School Committee side, each drew first position in their respective races on the Nov. 3 election ballot.

School Committee candidate and political newcomer Jared Nicholson drew the first position in the ten person field.

2 The other candidates in the School Committee race, in the order they will appear on the ballot, are first-time candidate, Michael Ouk, in the second spot, former candidate June Natola in the third spot, current committee members Donna Coppola and Patricia Capano in the fourth and fifth spots respectively. Former candidate Delores DiFillipo will be listed sixth followed by first-time candidate Natasha Megie-Maddrey at seventh, incumbents John Ford and Maria Carrasco listed eighth and ninth and retired Lynn teacher Lorraine Gately listed tenth.

On the City Council side Incumbent Ward 4 City Councilor Richard Colucci’s name will be listed above that of his challenger and 2013 ward candidate Ariana Murrell-Rosario’s name. Colucci is the council’s longest-serving member, having first been elected to his seat in 1990.

“In a race with more than two candidates, ballot position matters. Names pop out if they are listed first, second or last. In a two-person race, it doesn’t matter as much,” Colucci said.

Ward 5 council candidate Marven-Rhode Hyppolite’s name will be listed first followed by Incumbent Councilor Dianna Chakoutis.

In the race to succeed Rick Ford in Ward 7, first-time candidate Brian Field will appear first, followed by fellow newcomer Jay Walsh.

Incumbent Councilor at Large Hong Net’s name will appear at the top of the list of Council at-Large candidates, followed by former Council President Timothy Phelan at second, current Council President Daniel Cahill at third and newcomer Brian LaPierre listed fourth. Current school committee member Rick Starbard who is running for one of the four council at large seats will be listed fifth followed by incumbent Gordon “Buzzy” Barton at sixth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.