Newly Appointed Lynn Disability Commission to Hold First Meeting

Mayor Judith Flanagan Kennedy has appointed seven members to the newly established Lynn Disability Commission, a board designed to enhance the quality of life for people with disabilities living in the city.

The state legislature passed a law in 2010 authorizing cities and towns to form a disability commission. The City Council subsequently voted to form the Lynn Disability Commission.

Under the state law, disability commissions may include 5-9 members, appointed by the mayor, with the following stipulations: a majority of members must be people with disabilities; one must be the immediate family member of a disabled person; and one must be an elected or appointed public official.

Kennedy has named seven founding members to the Lynn Disability Commission, which will meet for the first time on Tuesday, Aug. 2 at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall. The members are:  Pam Barry, Nicholas Capano, Roger Ennis, Yolanda Morris, Joan Reynolds, Lori Thompson and Stanley Wotring. They will serve terms of 1-3 years.

Under the bylaws, the commission is charged with researching the problems faced by people with disabilities in the city, advocating for legislation that improves their quality of life, assisting the city in complying with state and federal laws that affect those persons with disabilities and providing information and guidance on all matters pertaining to disability.

“I am very pleased to see this idea come to fruition,” Kennedy said. “This commission will ensure that we are mindful of the daily challenges faced by residents with disabilities and help us to assist them in navigating those challenges.”

A chairperson, vice chairperson and secretary will be elected at the first meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.