Coakley, Baker Win Primaries Here: Lynn Primary Voters Follow The State in Nearly All Races

Just over 17-percent of Lynn’s 49,000 registered voters turned out to vote in Tuesday’s Primary Election here, but that low voter turnout was in line with state voter turnouts and despite the low numbers, the winners will still appear on General Election ballots in November.

Lynn’s predominantly Democratic voters, those who did show up, were largely in agreement with voters statewide, as the party winners in all statewide contested races also won in Lynn.

With just eight weeks to go between Tuesday’s Primary and the November 4 General Election, voters here should expect to see an increase in candidate activity.

Below is a breakdown of the winners in Lynn, along with who they will face in November.

In the Primary for Governor Attorney General Martha Coakley beat back Treasurer Steve Grossman and Donald Berwick with 50-percent of the Lynn vote for the Democratic nomination both here and statewide. Next up for Coakley, she will face Swampscott Republican Charles Baker, who challenged Deval Patrick four years ago. Baker handily beat back a challenge by Tea Party activist Mark Fisher, grabbing 75-percent of the vote to once again earn the Republican nomination for Governor.

Down the ticket Democrat Stephen Kerrigan won 59-percent of the Lynn vote in his successful run for the Democratic Nomination for Lieutenant Governor, besting Leland Cheung and Michael Lake. Kerrigan will face Republican Karyn Polito, who had 99 percent of the Republican votes here in an uncontested race.

In the race to succeed Coakley as AG, Assistant AG Maura Healey won 57-percent of the vote in Lynn, beating Warren Tolman in the Primary. She will face John B. Miller on November 4. Miller did not have a challenger in the primary.

In the race to be the next Treasurer, Deborah Goldberg grabbed almost 40-percent of the vote in Lynn and beat Barry Finegold and Thomas Conroy statewide, for the right to face Michael Heffernan in November.

City Councilor Brendan Crighton beat back a strong challenge from School Committee member Charlie Gallo and activist Aikaderina Koudanis to win the nomination to succeed Steve Walsh as 11th Essex State Representative. Crighton will not face a challenger in November. Neither will former City Councilor Robert Fennell, who was unchallenged in his race for the 10th Essex District Representative seat.

One State Rep. Democrat who will face a huge challenge is newcomer Christopher J. Finn, who was the only Democrat in the race for the 9th Essex District Representative seat, but will now have to face Saugus incumbent Republican Donald Wong in November.

U.S. Senator Edward Markey, who won a special election to replace John Kerry in the Senate last year, will face Brian Herr in November for re-election. Neither candidate had a challenger in the Primary.

In the race for State Auditor, incumbent Democrat Suzanne Bump will face Patricia Saint Aubin in November. Neither woman had a challenger in the primary.

Other November races featuring previously uncontested candidates include Register of Probate, where Democrat Pamela Casey O’Brien will face Republican Michael Morales in November and Secretary of State where Democratic incumbent William F. Galvin will face Republican David D’Arcangelo.


1 comment for “Coakley, Baker Win Primaries Here: Lynn Primary Voters Follow The State in Nearly All Races

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.